top of page

Staying in a home away from home


Closer view of Reykjavik Cathedral that we saw from our apartment in May 2014.

You may have noticed I have not been reporting on luxury cruises or 5 star hotels. I have nothing against them but they do not fit my budget. Especially as I prefer to spend longer periods in places of interest I need to be careful with my expenses. One thing that has worked well for me is staying in people’s homes, arranged through Airbnb, a website to connect people with accommodation to rent and those who want it.

Arras, France was my base to visit Canada's Vimy Monument.

Canada's major WWI monument is at Vimy, France. I visited July 1, 2014.

Yesterday Sarah, my Victoria BC Airbnb host, dropped me off at Russell Books, an emporium of the printed word where I could have browsed for days. Later, at a family gathering to which I was invited, Sarah’s father showed slides from their time in the United Arab Emirates that brought back memories for me too. Airbnb hosts are generally people who have travelled themselves or have a curiosity about the world and other people. They almost always have a wealth of knowledge to share about their local communities.

Local hosts have a wealth of knowledge about local resources.

In some locations hotels have objected to the operation of Airbnb saying it has reduced their business. While this may be so for some short term travellers it would not seem to be the case for people staying longer term. I certainly could not afford to stay in hotels for several weeks at a time but when I stay in lower priced accommodation my presence in a community still puts money into the local economy. This morning I responded to a survey from Airbnb apparently addressing this issue.

February 2015 in Rotorua at the centre of New Zealand's geothermal area.

Adding up my stays I found I have used Airbnb in 25 cities in 11 countries since January 2013. That does not count two recent stays in Willemstad, Curaçao and David, Panama which were connected to Airbnb but not official Airbnb bookings. Some of those cities I visited more than once and had more than one Airbnb stay.

This tiny, cosy room in Ghent, Belgium gave me access to a beautiful city full of medieval buildings.

A boat tour highlights some of the architecture of Ghent, July 2104.

In 2014 my sister Lorna, her husband Dan, and I had a whole apartment to ourselves for our visit to Reykjavik, Iceland. Travelling on my own I usually have a room in someone's house or apartment and interact with them daily. Since Airbnb host and guest rate each other, each develops a profile on the website, something that helps future hosts and guests establish comfort with a stranger. As a solo traveller it is reassuring to know there is someone I can contact if I need assistance when out exploring.

The homes vary greatly in the facilities they offer and some have endearing quirky touches like these two night tables. Often there is a pet to add to the homey feeling.

Unusual night tables in Sydney, Australia & Rotorua, New Zealand.

Household cat in Melbourne, Australia.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page