top of page

Ending & beginning the year


Frigid temperatures mark the end of 2017 in much of Canada.

With the outdoor temperature here in Southern Alberta colder than -30°C and feeling like -40° (the point at which the Fahrenheit and Celsius scales converge), I am settling in for a quiet New Year’s Eve at home and reflecting on New Years past, many of which I spent in warmer climes. Since retiring 6 years ago, I have been out of Canada at New Year’s 5 times: twice in Australia and once each in New Zealand, Ecuador and Panama. With these reflections I send my good wishes for 2018.

2012 started for me in Ecuador at a 4 generation family party. Immediately after Christmas the street vendors had started displaying masks and "los años viejos", old year figures representing what people want to leave behind.

Street vendors sell Año Viejo figures & masks.

About 3 pm New Year's Eve as I walked down my local road to meet my ride, I encountered my first request for Año Viejo money. In front of a neighbouring home the road was blocked with a rope. A child of maybe 10, costumed and masked, held out a cup to which I donated. At various intersections on the drive to the party we encountered female figures, some very provocative in dress and pose, stopping traffic for donations. New Year’s Eve is a time for young males to dress as women and solicit contributions to bury their husbands (the Año Viejo figures), i.e., to obtain money for a party. In the local supermarket several costumed and masked young children had requested contributions, rather like Halloween.

New Year's Eve in Ecuador young men dressed as women ask for money to bury their husbands.

On the way, my friends recounted other Ecuadorean New Year traditions. Wearing yellow at the turn of the year, especially yellow underwear, will bring good luck as will eating 12 grapes just before midnight, one for each month ahead, and jumping over the Año Viejo fire. At the party we had a sit down supper on the patio about 9:30 followed by dancing to recorded Latin music. A few minutes before midnight, we moved outdoors where fireworks were let off, the Años Viejos were burned and everyone hugged each other with the wish “Feliz Año”.

At midnight in Ecuador los años viejos are burned.

New Year’s Eve 2013 found me in Toowoomba, Queensland house sitting with Daphne, the dachshund. New Year's Day 2014 it was foggy for the morning dog walk. Later I explored a city park and surrounding area getting a bit dehydrated in the heat. On December 30th, 2014 I arrived back in Toowoomba and spent a quiet New Year’s with my friends before they set off on another holiday, again leaving Daphne with me.

An early dog walk on New Year's Day 2014 revealed this sign.

Bottle tree in Queen's Park, Toowoomba, New Year's Day 2014.

Daphne, the dachshund, remembered me when I returned a year later.

Crimson Rosella in Queensland, New Year's Day 2015.

In Panama at the end of 2015 I was again invited to a New Year's Eve party. It was in the outdoor space of a penthouse with great views over the city, plenty of Latin music and some talented dancers. A hot and cold buffet was served about 11 pm. Earlier I had contemplated staying home with my host's cat but was glad I went to the party.

Party guests lit paraffin lanterns and set them adrift.

View of Panama City with smoke haze from fireworks and paraffin lanterns.

I ended 2016 and began 2017 in Christchurch, New Zealand. On December 31st I explored City Centre, still under reconstruction from the deadly earthquake of February 2011. The evening was spent watching TV with the two little dogs in my care while their humans were on holiday.

Ruins of iconic Christchurch Cathedral.

Zoe, one of two Bichon Frise dogs in my care December 2017.

TV Screen on New Year's Eve 2016.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page