top of page

Whining? Not me!


A great day for a walk.

Complaining about winter? No, not much, although I may have occasionally muttered to myself: “Why do people live like this?” as I dealt with the cold weather challenges. I am actually feeling quite proud of myself for getting through a cold, snowy January in good spirits – something millions of people in the Northern Hemisphere achieve every year.

Getting there requires more effort in winter.

One driver had a hard time leaving the parking lot.

Five of the last 6 Januarys I have been spoiled with warm weather elsewhere. However, since settling into my apartment last summer, my life has been more about being here than about getting anywhere. Unless we count wondering if a run to the supermarket is possible without plugging in the car’s block heater for a while first. Today, after the latest big snow dump, the question was whether I might get stuck in the parking lot. Fortunately, most places I need to go here I can walk – if the streets and sidewalks aren’t too icy.

Beautiful branches on a sunny winter day.

Today is one of those sunny, blue sky winter days that are the best of Canadian winter. The temperature is still about -15° Celsius or 5° Fahrenheit – and colder if we count a bit of wind chill. It makes for an invigorating walk. And here in Southern Alberta we do get the Chinook winds that in an hour or so can dramatically raise the temperature from minus to plus. Surely another Chinook is just around the corner.

Enjoying a winter walk.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page