top of page

Walking in Buffalo


The American bison or buffalo is the symbol of Buffalo, New York.

Buffalo, New York is a city that was never on my radar. However, as I was flying into the Buffalo-Niagara airport for an event on the US side of the famous falls, I decided to explore Buffalo. Walking on my own and with a guide I found some fascinating sights.

One of many beautiful old houses.

The area where I stayed was near the Historic Hispanic Quarter and comprised of large old houses, many beautifully restored, others in disrepair. It seemed to be an ethnically diverse area with many small community gardens.

Mural in Historic Hispanic Quarter.

Young woman enjoys neighbourhood rose garden.

One of several signs I saw celebrating the diversity of the community.

As I was the only one to show up for the Best of Buffalo Walking Tour, the guide provided an excellent personalized tour. The first stops were the Electric Tower, a 1912 Beaux-Arts Classical Revival edifice celebrating Buffalo's pioneering of electric power; the gold-domed M&T Bank building; and the 32 storey Art deco City Hall completed in 1931.

That's real gold leaf on the roof of historic M&T Bank. Electric Tower is in background.

Buffalo's Art Deco City Hall was completed in 1931.

Skylight in City Council Chamber.

View from the top of Buffalo City Hall.

Other highlights of the tour were St. Paul's Episcopal Cathedral; the 10 storey Italian Renaissance style Ellicott Square building; and the Prudential (Guaranty) building, one of the first buildings whose design we might recognize as a modern skyscraper. Both these office buildings were constructed in 1896. The cathedral, consecrated in 1851 and renovated in 1890, has a magnificent hammerbeam ceiling and a variety of stained glass window styles including one by Tiffany.

Tiffany window in St. Paul's Episcopal Cathedral.

Prudential (Guaranty) building, 1896, is an early skyscraper.

Entrance to Ellicott Square, office building, 1896.

One of several ornate elevators.

After my tour I wandered a bit more on my own and enjoyed a refreshing cup of tea and a lemon cheesecake square.

I loved the floral mural on this building.

Hollyhock in garden at main public library.

Buffalo has an impressive theatre district.

A cup of tea and a square to refresh.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page