top of page

Living with dinosaurs


Sit down by my side.

Recently I made a brief visit to a small Alberta city in love with dinosaurs. Alberta is rich in dinosaur fossils, especially in a region known as The Badlands in the southeast corner of the province. We even have our own dinosaur genus – Albertosaurus.

A special welcome for dinosaur enthusiasts.

Drumheller, home to the Royal Tyrrell Museum of Palaeontology, is the focal point of the Badlands and a dinosaur theme pervades the city. A variety of sculptures, ranging from serious reproductions of dino anatomy to more whimsical interpretations, adorn the streets and I enjoyed my walking tour. Here the local people, as they go about their daily business, are living with dinosaurs.

This demure miss graces one corner on main street.

A suitor gazes across the street toward the object of his affection.

Dino dining, anyone?

Dinosaur amid flora in downtown Drumheller park.

Drumheller street names will challenge even the best spellers.

The Tyrrell Museum, opened in 1985, is located on Dinosaur Way. I confess I did not go inside – school holidays were drawing to a close and families were lined up to get in – but I plan to return. I have a fond memory of visiting the museum with my son when he was a preschooler and, like many youngsters, knew a great deal about the huge beasts that roamed our province some 75 million years ago.

You will find The Royal Tyrrell Museum of Palaeontology on Dinosaur Trail.

Being at home rather than getting anywhere else has been my recent norm but that is about to change – stay tuned.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page