top of page

Visiting Victorian Oamaru


The Criterion Hotel in Oamaru's Victorian Precinct was built in 1877.

Oamaru is a town of nearly 14,000 people located in the south eastern part of New Zealand’s South Island. I recently visited Oamaru to see its Victorian heritage area. The buildings are of a local limestone called Oamaru stone and many have been beautifully restored. Various craft enterprises, restaurants and shops have brought the Victorian Precinct back to life.

Old carriage outside a beverage distributor.

One of several art galleries in the Victorian Precinct.

My timing was right for a ride on the steam train operated by an enthusiastic group of volunteers. The short trip travels from the station in the Victorian Precinct to the harbour. Instead of returning by train I walked the short trail reading the historic signs.

Steam train at its harbour terminus.

Spotted shags have taken over the 1884 Sumpter Wharf that is no longer used or accessible by humans.

Oamaru has recently become known for its steampunk museum and festival. In case you are wondering, steampunk is a subgenre of science fiction utilizing technology based on 19th century steam-powered machinery. I visited the museum that looked and smelled like a dark and dusty old machine shed and was inhabited by aliens and monsters. It was quite intriguing.

Steampunk HQ, Oamaru's unusual museum.

Visitors are invited to play the Metagalactic Pipe Organ.

Gears evoke the industrial era.

The Portal was the entry to a brief light and music performance that I enjoyed and repeated.

If you are keen you can take in the steampunk festival in Oamaru.

Where did I stay in Oamaru? My home for two nights was a former convent dating to 1891 and adjacent to St Patrick's Basilica built between 1893 and 1918. The view from my room was marvellous.

A view of Oamaru harbour and St Patrick's Basilica from my room.

Dawn view from my room.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page