top of page

Settling in


Autumn view from my new apartment.

After 6 years of nomadic retirement, I am now in full time residence in my new apartment in Lethbridge, Alberta. House sits over the summer gave me a chance to find an apartment in this city where I had previously lived for over a decade and to gradually furnish it. The last weekend of September family and friends helped me move my treasures from a storage unit in Edmonton. All my worldly goods are now in one place. As we cleared the storage unit I realized my tenancy there was longer than in any place of residence for quite a number of years.

Farewell to the storage unit.

Brother-in-law Dan was one of the movers.

The move went smoothly and I was grateful to have the last boxes unloaded and inside just ahead of a brief rain shower. I have already experienced 3 seasons in my new abode. Summer had no sooner given way to fall when we got a taste of winter with a snow storm in the early hours of October 2.

Summer breakfast on the balcony.

October started with a taste of winter.

Although I had not expected to be in a high rise building, much less on the 8th floor, here I am appreciating the views. The building is nearly 50 years old and well maintained. While the vintage avocado green tub was a bit of a challenge I am quite pleased with the bathroom now. My furnishings are a mixture of new and thrift store finds. Today as I wait for the snow to melt I am enjoying the morning in my sunny east-facing office/guest room. I hope to continue travelling although the trips may be shorter and I can now return to my cozy home.

Shocking 1970s green tub transformed with leafy shower curtain.

My Seoul Airbnb host had a kettle like this and I was delighted to find one for me.

Household goods from many countries including a Canadian made fry pan.

Chair is comfortable as well as cool. Fish cupboard is folk art from India bought in UAE.

Bears' new home and finds from retail and thrift shops.

Plants make a home; pets are not allowed in the building.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page